Five Things You Can Do to Break up Big Food and Build Local Food Economies

By Bust the Trust

Big agribusiness has taken over your dinner table. This corporate domination has harmed farmers, who are stuck buying inputs and selling product to a tiny number of corporations. Monopoly power over our food has also limited the number of consumer choices to a few brands of unhealthy processed foods, and many neighborhoods are left without any fresh produce at all. This corporate food chain is being exported worldwide by these same companies. What we need instead is a just and sustainable food system that makes sure farmers make a decent living and everyone can afford good food.

This is an historic opportunity for all of us—farmers, consumers, environmentalists, community activists, advocates fighting global poverty and hunger, and you—to get involved, make our voices heard and demand that the rampant corporate control of our food, farms and family dinners be stopped.

There are many ways to participate in this new food renaissance —to get involved, make your voice heard and take back control of America’s food and farms from giant, unregulated corporations. We hope that you’ll join us today.

Here’s 5 things you can do, right now:

Read the full post at Bust the Trust

10 responses to “Five Things You Can Do to Break up Big Food and Build Local Food Economies

  1. If you want safe food, you NEED to Fight! for it.

  2. Rady, you have really done it now! See also http://wp.me/phmll-11R

  3. Don’t believe in labels. Organic Valley calls itself a coop and they say they are ‘for’ family farms. They have this cute little symbol of a pretty little old-fashioned barn and a cute little eensy weensy silo as their logo. An utter despicable lie. They have been caught buying factory farm milk.

    Additionally, this is my story:

    The first bulk truck to pick up milk, they sent in when I became a ‘farmer member’ 10 years ago, had bald tires, absolutely a disgrace. When the truck and an inept driver could not negotiate under bad weather conditions and almost (-had I not been there to stop him, he would have-) slammed into my milking barn, as a result, and they blamed me for not ‘keeping up my driveway’. Later they started sending in HUGE semi rigs, into our small farm yard. These trucks were totally useless, DID NOT FIT INTO OUR SAMLL FARMYARD and I spent literally HOURS and HOURS helping the trucks to get in and out of our yard anytime there was even a little snowfall or freezing rain or even frostiness. They have no traction. They (semis) are designed for going down freeways with mega loads, not into people’s farmyards. In addition, I contend these HUGE trucks were responsible for compacting the earth over my waterline to the cowbarn, causing a freeze-up to it in the winter of “08 and loss of running water to the barn. Try hauling water to thirsty cows and for clean-up with PAILS IN EACH HAND STRUGGLING THROUGH THE SNOW in below zero temperature EVERY SINGLE DAY for a winter! When I demanded compensation for all this from Organic Valley, they cancelled my contract, claimed I was a ‘hothead’ and a ‘troublemaker’ and I lost the herd–they were slaughtered last fall because I could not sell them as milk cows, though I tried. No buyers. Dairy farming was going bust last year.

    Our dairy farm is gone. I have lost my income, my livelihood. My wife works at school and we are poor, in poverty, cannot pay bills, largely because of the actions, inactions, and dirty dealings of Organic Valley–Family of Farms. This is what you buy if buy their milk. This is the product they sell you.

    I cannot begin to tell you people how much I hate them.

    And the funny thing of it is: The others (milk monopolies) are even worse. Worse even, than Organic Valley. And that pains to say that because I hate Organic Valley so much.

    Ha ha. See, but I’m not laughing.

    Maybe someday, I’ll win a lawsuit over these bastards and then I’ll laugh.

    But right now, I cry. And cry.

    And cry.

    Organic Valley destroyed our small family dairy farm.

    nedlud

  4. Ned, I’m so sorry to hear about all this, and extend prayers to you and your family.

    but thank you for sharing.

  5. I really appreciate the links that you’ve provided in this post along with the suggestions for action. There are times when we can feel overwhelmed about how to help. Your post is very informative.

  6. Pingback: 5 Winning Strategies for the Farm Food Freedom Wars « Journal of Natural Food and Healing

  7. I am only eighteen years old. How would I do anything to improve my local food situation? It is mostly (completely) commercialized.

    • Hi Lexus ~ First, subscribe to Food Freedom (I’ve signed you up; if you don’t want the newsletter, see the unsubscribe instructions at the bottom of each newsletter).

      Second, try the suggestions in the article. Find local farmers markets or co-ops (community supported agriculture). You can get to know your local farmers this way; find out which ones grow organic, and which ones use chemicals. Also look for local organic shops.

      See if your town has a community garden – join it or start your own.

      Next, try home gardening. Every human should know how to grow their own food. Usually local colleges or nurseries offer classes in local gardening – what works in Texas won’t work in Oregon – so you have to understand your climate, soils, and growing seasons for the various fruits and veggies.

      If you have no land, you can grow a tomato plant in the window… there are a lot of options.

      Buy local, “heirloom” seeds – and learn how to save your seeds from the first harvest.

      The more you know about how to feed yourself, the less dependent you are on Big Food with their big prices and eco-destructive practices.

      Good luck!

  8. Thank you so much!

What do YOU think?

