How the West Has Won: Derrick Jensen on Peak Moment TV

By Janaia Donaldson
Peak Moment TV

“Is the world a better place because you were born?” asks author Derrick Jensen. He contrasts sustainable indigenous cultures who enrich their habitat with the current “dominant culture destroying everything.” He explores how industrial civilization is inherently violent, turning people into objects and the earth into stuff.

His books include A Language Older Than Words, The Culture of Make Believe, What We Leave Behind; Endgame, and his latest, co-authored with Aric McBay and Lierre Keith, Deep Green Resistance. (my review here) [www.derrickjensen.org]

6 responses to “How the West Has Won: Derrick Jensen on Peak Moment TV

  1. I have read several of Derricks books.. All from recommendation of Rady… He speaks the truth that few want to hear. For some reason I am compelled to leave a quote that seems truthful and appropriate…..

    “When we Indians kill meat, we eat it all up. When we dig roots, we make little holes. When we build houses, we make little holes. When we burn grass for grasshoppers, we don’t ruin things. We shake down acorns and pine nuts. We don’t chop down the trees. We only use dead wood. But the white people plow up the ground, pull down the trees, kill everything. … the White people pay no attention. …How can the spirit of the earth like the White man? … everywhere the White man has touched it, it is sore.”

    From the 1927 Grand Council of American Indians

    “The white people, who are trying to make us over into their image, they want us to be what they call “assimilated,” bringing the Indians into the mainstream and destroying our own way of life and our own cultural patterns. They believe we should be contented like those whose concept of happiness is materialistic and greedy, which is very different from our way.
    We want freedom from the white man rather than to be intergrated. We don’t want any part of the establishment, we want to be free to raise our children in our religion, in our ways, to be able to hunt and fish and live in peace. We don’t want power, we don’t want to be congressmen, or bankers….we want to be ourselves. We want to have our heritage, because we are the owners of this land and because we belong here.

    The white man says, there is freedom and justice for all. We have had “freedom and justice,” and that is why we have been almost exterminated

    • wow, some potent quotes. thanks, lisa.

      I hope we have time to restore humanity’s proper place in the biosphere before we destroy it for ourselves (and millions of other species).

  2. hope is not.
    what we do when hope is gone is our most accurate accounting.
    perhaps that accounting will speak well of us.

    imagine the changes Frederick Douglas went through as he came to understand what he had been raised into and what was possible.
    imagine what we knew and what we know today about ourselves.
    what do we want to know tomorrow?

    the guy taps the genius of fish who learn not only what water is but of the difference of polluted from clean water. how do we get from here to there without the society that we are captives of attacking us (and him and all like him)?

  3. I recently had an email conversation with Derrick…

    Me: At 12:33 PM 9/30/2011, you wrote:
    Hi,
    I am too poor to afford your books, and the many more I would love to read, would you consider sending them to me?
    An ebook of endgame vol. 1&2 would be an awesome read.. more would be better😛 my address is 2516 42st, Edmonton Alberta NW T6L 4M8 If you would consider a paper copy =]
    And I must inform you that I would share these openly with anyone and everyone interested in reading them as it is in my beliefs that information should be free.
    Thanks,
    Joshua Corrigan.

    Derrick: Joshua,

    This is why they invented libraries. Get yourself a library card and read to your heart’s content.

    Derrick

    Me:At 01:07 PM 9/30/2011, you wrote:
    I understand most of you doomsday theorist are all about the bling.
    I’m on the road.
    NY doesn’t give foreigners cards and I’m not going to be in Edmonton for a while.
    Thanks but.

    Derrick:Joshua,

    If you have any friends, borrow their FUCKING library cards. Problem solved, unless of course you’re simply looking for more excuses to insult mee.

    Don’t write me again.

    Derrick

    Me:At 01:44 PM 9/30/2011, you wrote:
    I just wonder about the morality of it all..
    No need to be insulted.
    I just wanted to have a, vague as it may be, knowledge of why you choose to sell your words instead of Teaching them.
    It’s obvious that you get a lot of hate mail from people that don’t see you’re point of view and although I agree with much of the problems you arise in the world it is time for change. Not hate breeding.
    Take your childish words and keep them for yourself.

    Derrick:And take your childish attitude and keep it to yourself.

    Oh, and by the way, my disabled sister needs a ditch dug. The soil is kind of hard, like concrete. I’m actually too fucking lazy to dig the ditch myself, and I’m too fucking cheap to hire it done, so why don’t you go dig it for her? For free. You’ll need to make your own way to her house, and you’ll need to buy a shovel and a pick, but then I’ll expect you’ll be glad to do that. And when you’re done with her ditch, there are a thousand other people I’m going to share your labor with, since I believe that all labor should be free. So when you finish her ditch, there is my neighbor’s ditch, and then another neighbor. And I need some new shoes, so you can make those for me too. I believe shoes should be free. So when you finish with my shoes, I’ll want you to make more for lots of other people too. Oh, and I’ll need to insult you in every note I send. That’s a really GREAT way to get people to give you something for free: insult them, demand they send you something for free, and when you don’t get what your entitled little self wants, insult them more. What a plan.

    I’ll tell my sister to expect you with a brand new shovel. Her ditch is only 3 miles long. It should take you three years. But hey, I believe all labor should be freely given, especially when I get to be the mooch.

    Again, don’t write me again.

    Derrick

    Me:Where there is a will there is a way.
    Reforming culture could make things a lot easier if we all just pulled together.
    One person with a plow, one person with an ox, one person with a farm and you could support that effort quite effortlessly.
    If you find my opinions insulting then maybe one day you should ask yourself why my fellow man does not support me. I wont fight you but i will never stop voicing what I know.
    If you need new shoes sell a t-shirt to a kid that knows no better.
    Just like Scientology you are saying here is the answer….$20.95
    Money exploits the proletariat and you seem to be joining the bourgeoisie. Re-think yourself before it is too late.

    This is what you expected from me is it not?

    I have no clue why he started swearing but I assume he just always expects the worst.
    I will post the other responses if he reply’s..

  4. Great video! If you like Derrick Jensen, you might be interested in the movement based on his newest book, http://deepgreenresistance.org/home/.
    I also enjoyed the quotes posted by Lisa.
    The previous comment by Joshua is disturbing. Why is he harrassing Derrick Jensen, epecially if he wants to read Derrick’s books?
    Thank you for the interesting blog, I’ll be back to read others.

What do YOU think?

